MLB Batting Title Winners Over Time

Every year, Major League Baseball crowns a batting champion in both the American and National Leagues. The batting champ’s average varies greatly from year to year. Some players have won multiple time, and many teams have had multiple winners throughout the years.

Data Source:Baseball Almanac

In both leagues, there was a long tailing-off period that lasted until the mid to late 1980s. In the National League. Tony Gwynn came into prominence around that time and led the league 8 times. Several players from the Colorado Rockies also won batting titles after that team came into existence in 1993. This is attributed to the high elevation at Coors Field in Denver, making it a hitters’ park. Barry Bonds also won two titles late in his career with very high averages, but many people believe this was due to his use of Performance Enhancing Drugs.

The last player to hit above the magical .400 mark was Ted Williams in 1941 for the Boston Red Sox when he hit .406. Ty Cobb won more times than anyone else with 12 batting titles, and his team, the Detroit Tigers, has fielded 26 winners, also the most by a team.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *